Everyone’s favourite indie folk rockstar & college cinema instructor is back. The man listed as Sam Bean in the phone book but Iron & Wine in our hearts has a new album for everyone. Later this year, September 25th to be exact, Iron & Wine is releasing his third full length album entitled Shepherd’s Dog.

The internet being what it is these days a copy of the album has been leaked already. (oof!) Not as quiet as Creek that Drank the Cradle, the new album veers into some bulkier production. It’s more than the man and his guitar. ‘Carousel’ even features some slight vocal distortions. Don’t worry it’s not like Peter Frampton. Plus it leads to some nice male/ female harmonies. I’m assuming his sister, Sarah provides the female vocals again.

One of the highlights is the album closer,  Flightless Bird, American Mouth.  Starting out with an almost nursery rhyme cadence it moves into swoon territory as Sam’s whispering voice soars over an accordion, piano and more of the aforementioned harmonies.

Here’s the track listing:

1. Pagan Angel and a Borrowed Car
2. White Tooth Man
3. Lovesong of the Buzzard
4. Carousel
5. House by the Sea
6. Innocent Bones
7. Wolves (Song of the Shepherd’s Dog)
8. Resurrection Fern
9. Boy With a Coin
10. The Devil Never Sleeps
11. Peace Beneath the City
12. Flightless Bird, American Mouth

Iron & Wine – Shepherd’s Dog